Canada Now Has More Sikh MPs In House Of Commons Than India Has In Lok Sabha

Canada Now Has More Sikh MPs In House Of Commons Than India Has In Lok Sabha

Canada recently had its general elections, in which Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's Liberal party lost 20 seats and their main opposition party, the Conservatives, gained 26. The Liberals, however, have retained enough seats to form a minority government.

It is now being reported by a leading daily that the new Canadian government has 18 members of the Sikh community in its parliament, while India's Lok Sabha only has 13. This is the same number of Sikhs that were elected in the 2014 polls. 

The 18 MPs have been elected in the provinces of Ontario (10), British Columbia (4), Alberta (3) and Quebec (1). Thirteen of them belong to the Liberal party, while four of them belong to the Conservative party and one belongs to the NDP. 

Even Justin Trudeau's cabinet has four members of the Sikh Community - Defence Minister Harjit Sajjan, Infrastructure Minister Amarjeet Sohi, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Minister Navdeep Bains and Tourism Minister Bardish Chagger. We applaud the inclusive government Canada has formed to represent its citizens.

Sikhs make up approximately 2% of the population both in Canada and India, but their representation in politics is not indicative of that. 

Here are all the newly-elected Sikh MPs of Canada.


Ramesh Sangha

Maninder Sidhu

Ruby Sahota

Sonia Sidhu

Kamal Khera

Navdeep Bains

Jagmeet Singh

Bardish Chagger

Gagan Sikand

Raj Saini

Bob Saroya

Jag Sahota

Jasraj Singh

Randeep Singh Sarai

Harjit Singh Sajjan

Sukh Dhaliwal

Anju Dhillon

Tim Singh Uppal

POPxo is now available in six languages: EnglishHindiTamilTeluguMarathi and Bangla.

Introducing #POPxoEverydayBeauty - POPxo Shop's collection of skin, bath & body, and hair products that are fun, effective and 100% fuss-free. To celebrate, we’re giving everyone 25% off on pre-orders so head to and take your beauty routine up a POP!